Sherry and Manzanilla de Sanlúcar wines

Sherry wines and Manzanilla de Sanlúcar are among the great wines of the world, recognized by consumers and experts alike. Their traditional and unique production and aging process (criaderas and soleras) together with their rich, long and brilliant history, make them synonymous with quality, good workmanship and prestige. The biological or oxidative aging of these wines gives them an indisputable personality in their different aromas, sensations and possibilities they offer.

In turn, the 'cabeceo' with natural sweet wines results in originally dry wines, such as finos, amontillados or olorosos, acquiring varying degrees of sweetness. Both Sherry wines and Manzanilla de Sanlúcar have their own Denominations of Origin recognized throughout the world. In general, there are the following types of Sherry Wines:

Fortified wines

Fortified wines are dry wines. Their elaboration process includes a complete fermentation of the musts at the end of which the veil of flor appears. The winemaker's decision to fortify the base wine at 15º or above 17º alcohol will determine the type of aging to which the wine will subsequently be subjected. From this point the different types of Sherry Wines emerge.

Image link
Image link

Liqueur wines

These are wines obtained through the traditional practice of cabeceos or combinations, from Generoso Wines with Natural Sweet Wines or, in certain cases, with concentrated must. They are wines with different degrees of sweetness, but always with a sugar content higher than 5 grams per liter.

Depending on the fortified wines used as a base and the final sweetness levels of the cabeceo, the following types of Liqueur Sherry Wines are distinguished: pale cream, medium and cream.

Natural sweet wines

Natural sweet wines are those obtained from must obtained from very ripe or sunny grapes, generally of the Pedro Ximénez or Moscatel varieties.

Image link
Skip to content